Beetroot Cabbage curry

November 27, 2006 at 10:02 am 1 comment

Beetroot is one of my favourite vegetables. The glamorous red colour is very tempting and so is its sweet taste. I add some pieces of beetroot wherever a little glamour is required to any dish! Like when I make tomato soup I add a few pieces of beetroot -The result is a wonderful red colored tomato soup, which  will give all the synthetic colours a run for their money.

On a different note, I even made beetroot water for my son to celebrate this years Holi-his first Holi. A Natural and healthy way to enjoy the festival of colours!

Indira has blogged about this unusual recipe with beetroot :Cabbage, Beetroot and Redbeans Curry . I love most of Indira’s recipes for they are unusual, at the same time very simple and nutritious.

I liked this recipe for two reasons ;One-The recipe includes cabbage too. I was bored of making the same old curries with cabbage and two-My husband is not very fond of  beetroot by itself . But he loved this curry .Thanks Indira for that.

 

i1.jpg

I have almost followed the original recipe with a few changes. I have used usual white cabbage instead of the purple/red cabbage that Indira used and brown Chana /gram (Harbara) instead of Red beans.

The result was a delicious ‘ruby red’-as Indira says and a nutritious curry.

i2.jpg

Entry filed under: Curries & Gravies. Tags: .

Pav Bhaji Jammy Buns

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Indira  |  November 28, 2006 at 5:17 am

    That looks wonderful, Madhuli. Glad to hear that you and your family liked this curry. This is one of my favorite way to consume beetroot. Little bit of curd (yogurt) on the side also helps with the taste.
    Beetroot water as holy water, how ingenious you are.:) Better than colas, I think.

    @Thanks Indira.Will remember about curd next time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2006
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Foodie Blogroll

Bookmark

Bookmark and Share

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 341 other followers

Tweet me


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 341 other followers

