Ridge Gourd with Jowar-Wheat flour dumplings

September 4, 2007 at 11:06 am 24 comments

I always wonder what keeps My Foodcourt going?

I am not someone who is very good with words , and so the writeup on posts are usually quite small and only occasionally elaborate. My food-photos are ok but not exceptional;I get on an average 5-7 minutes to photograph any of my recipes, before my little one decides it is high time he took charge of the camera!

Then what is it?

Of course I love your feedback and encouragement, the most important thing that keeps me going.

And then there are recipes like these which I love to share with you all! And that’s what I love the most about food-blogging; Posting recipes which you will usually not find documented on the internet or maybe even cookbooks, passed on from one generation to the other, which are very close to my heart and my palate, of course. Usually these are my mom’s or Mom-in-law’s recipes and hence can be called authentic.

This Ridge Gourd with Jowar-wheat flour dumplings is one such recipe- very authentic (since my mom makes it J ) and which you would usually not find on any Hotel menu card or maybe even in any cookbooks.

ridge2.jpg

Dumplings of Jowar flour (sorghum/white millet)-wheat flour spiced with some chillies and ajwain (carom seeds) are cooked along with Ridge gourd. These dumplings just transform the simple, humble Ridge Gourd curry into something very exotic and utterly delicious, not to mention very very healthy. You can substitute Ridge Gourd with Silk Squash (Dodka) or Cluster beans (Gavar) or any such vegetable. 

__________________________________________________________ 

Ridge Gourd with Jowar-Wheat Flour dumplings recipe

_____________________________________________________

 2-3 Ridge gourds lightly peeled and cut into 1 inch pieces

2-3 garlic cloves (optional)

2 tsp Red chilli powder

1 tsp mustard seeds

1 tsp cumene seeds

½ tsp turmeric powder

3 tsp oil

Salt as per taste

Fresh coriander leaves for garnishing 

For the Jowar-Wheat flour dumplings

1 cup Jowar flour

1 cup Wheat flour

2 tsp green chili paste

1 tsp ajwain (carom seeds)

¼ tsp turmeric powder

Salt to taste

For the Jowar-Wheat flour dumplings

Mix all the ingredients and knead into a firm dough. It maybe a little sticky but its ok. Shape small lemon sized balls of the dough into cylindrical croquette shaped dumplings. Keep them aside. 

Heat oil in a pan.

Do the tadka (tempering); Mustard seeds-cumene seeds-garlic- turmeric powder.

Fry for a few seconds and add the Ridge gourd pieces.

Add salt and Red chili powder, mix nicely and cook covered till the Ridge gourd is almost half done. Add about ½ cup water.

Place and spread the Jowar-Wheat flour dumplings one by one on top of the Ridge gourd. Do not stir or mix. Cover and cook on low flame till the dumplings are nicely steamed.

Only after the dumplings are properly cooked, stir the curry nicely so that the dumplings and Ridge gourd mix nicely.

Cook for a few more minutes.

Garnish with fresh coriander leaves.

ridge.jpg

Serve hot with Bhakri or Roti. I had it just like that! 

Entry filed under: ajwain, cereal grain, chili paste, Chilli, coriander leaves, Curries & Gravies, flour, garlic, Health and Nutrition, jowar, mustard seed, red chilli, salt, seed, turmeric, veggies, wheat.

Farfalle with Lima Beans Krishna Janmashtami

24 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nags  |  September 4, 2007 at 3:17 pm

    my first time here. You have a simple and authentic blog going here 🙂 great job. keep it coming..
    @ Thanks Nags for dropping by and for your encouragement.

    Reply
  • 2. Prajakta  |  September 4, 2007 at 5:55 pm

    Sahi! This sounds a great recipe for the ridge gourd. I am so tired of cooking them in the usual ways I know. Will surely give this a try.
    @ Yes Prajakta that’s one of the reasons i love this recipe too..change from the same old veggies 🙂try it and let me know

    Reply
  • 3. Rajitha  |  September 4, 2007 at 7:40 pm

    madhuli, this looks really delicious.. and nourishing . i think i would have it straight in a bowl too …yumm
    @ Yes Rajitha I enjoy it like that too! thanks

    Reply
  • 4. Happy Cook  |  September 4, 2007 at 7:47 pm

    It sure looks a real authentic recipe.
    And it also looks delicious
    @ Thanks

    Reply
  • 5. Coffee  |  September 4, 2007 at 8:27 pm

    Madhuli, your posts are very well written. Short and to the point, but good writing. 🙂
    @ Hey coffee thanks. lots of hugs to you for that! 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. sandeepa  |  September 4, 2007 at 8:36 pm

    These is very appetizing !!! I am not a big ridge gourd fan so I realize this would definile liven it up 🙂
    @ Yes Sandeepa this is great for non ridge gourd fans!

    Reply
  • 7. BongMom  |  September 4, 2007 at 2:58 pm

    These is very appetizing !!! I am not a big ridge gourd fan so I realize this would definile liven it up 🙂
    @ Yes Sandeepa this is great for non ridge gourd fans!

    Reply
  • 8. TBC  |  September 4, 2007 at 9:58 pm

    I have never heard of this before. Thanks for sharing. Nice pic too.
    @ Thank you.

    Reply
  • 9. Suganya  |  September 5, 2007 at 12:16 am

    Thank you thank you so much for a recipe with jowar flour apart from roti!
    @ 🙂 I have many more..will let you know whenever I post jowar flour recipes apart from rotis

    Reply
  • 10. shilpa  |  September 5, 2007 at 6:58 am

    This is a very unusual recipe. I am sure they taste amazing. I will have to giveit a try soon….bookmarking it,,,thanks a lot.
    @ Thanks Shilpa and pls. let me know your verdict

    Reply
  • 11. Lakshmi  |  September 5, 2007 at 8:34 am

    WOOW that is authentic. Never heard this bf4. Will definitely try this. Thanks for sharing.
    @ Thank you Lakshmi. Pls. let me know how you liked it

    Reply
  • 12. redchillies  |  September 5, 2007 at 9:26 am

    Totally totally new receipe and the photo looks so amazing as well. Bookmarking this as must try.
    @ Thank you. I am glad you liked it. do let me know whenever you try it out.

    Reply
  • 13. http://redchillies.us  |  September 5, 2007 at 3:48 am

    Totally totally new receipe and the photo looks so amazing as well. Bookmarking this as must try.
    @ Thank you. I am glad you liked it. do let me know whenever you try it out.

    Reply
  • 14. Anupreeta  |  September 5, 2007 at 10:43 am

    Hi..i regularly visit ur blog for typical maharahtrian dishes…this one is also very nice..authentic…
    Btw, ridge gourd is “dodka” right? ..and silk squash is it “ghosavale” ??
    @ thanks anupreeta. yes ridge gourd is dodka and silk squash is ghosavale or gilka as we call it.

    Reply
  • 15. Zlamushka  |  September 5, 2007 at 5:21 pm

    This is a great recipe, Madhulka 🙂

    Your mum s gotta be awsome cook 🙂 What keeps you blog runing in my opinion? It is foremostly your exceptional sweet and friendly attitute. You re always full of cheers and pretty words.

    Keep it up, girl 🙂
    @ Thanks Zuzanka hugs to you for that! 🙂

    Reply
  • 16. priyanka  |  September 7, 2007 at 1:05 am

    That really is a unique recipe Madhuli….thanks for sharing ur mom’s recipe…will try it out soon:)
    @ thanks priyanka and pls. let me know whenever you make it.

    Reply
  • 17. evolvingtastes  |  September 29, 2007 at 10:29 am

    Madhuli, I made your turai-dumplings today, and it was so delicious! I just loved the concept of adding the little dumplings to the greens while they are cooking. A huge thank you for this recipe!
    @Thank you for that feedback. And those dumplings make a huge difference to the turai don’t they?

    Reply
  • 18. sangee  |  January 20, 2010 at 4:47 am

    thanks for all the recipes…god bless you always

    Reply
  • 19. sangee  |  January 20, 2010 at 4:47 am

    i love all ur recipes..thanx a lot

    Reply
  • 21. Mints!  |  January 25, 2010 at 9:30 am

    I made this today. Just finished eating and here I am. Loved it! Thank you for sharing …

    Reply
    • 22. My foodcourt  |  February 10, 2010 at 12:46 pm

      you are welcome.glad that you tried it and liked it.

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2007
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Categories

Bologmint

badge

Find my recipes at The Urban Spice

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,484 other subscribers