Tamarind rice (Pulliogre) and Raffle Prizes

October 25, 2007 at 1:52 pm 18 comments

This Dassera we had a delicious South Indian menu for lunch. In my house whenever we have a South Indian menu I am the one who enjoys it the most! And I just love Tamarind rice (Pulliogre) – sour and spicy.

dassera1.jpg

Pongal, Sagoo, Puliogre, Engai (Brinjal curry) for the Dassera Lunch

This is my Mother-in-law’s recipe and I like it so much that I don’t make any variations to this every time I make it! The Pulli Gojju (tamarind paste), that is made for the Tamarind Rice can be made in bulk and kept in the refrigerator to make instant tamarind rice whenever you want. 

__________________________________________________________ 

Tamarind Rice recipe

_____________________________________________________

2 cups cooked rice

¼   cup tamarind pulp

1 tsp jaggery (adjust tamarind and jaggery to your taste) 2-3 tsp Rasam powder2 tbsp sesame seeds roasted and powdered1 tbsp peanuts½ tbsp chana dalFew curry leaves¼ tsp mustard seeds¼ tsp hing3-4 tsp oilSalt to taste 

Cook rice with salt and 1 tsp oil and cool. The grains should separate nicely.

Heat oil in a pan.

Add the mustard seeds, hing ,peanuts, chana dal, curry leaves. Fry for a few minutes.

Add the tamarind pulp, jaggery, Rasam powder and boil nicely.

Boil till the raw tamarind smell goes away (10-12 minutes), the paste becomes thick and oil separates out.Add this tamarind pulp to the rice.

Add the powdered sesame mix nicely, so that the mixture coats the rice nicely.

Serve hot or cold with Curd/yoghurt or as it is. 

 tamarindrice.jpg

Note: When you have the precooked tamarind pulp, just add the pulp to cooked rice and add some tempering to it with mustard seeds, hing ,peanuts, chana dal, curry leaves and then serve.

                                ™˜™˜™˜™˜™˜™˜™˜ 

Raffle Results: FAHC~Subscribe to Smiles: 

To see the winners of the FAHC Raffle draw Check out the results at Mahanandi.

Congratulations to all the winners!

Thank you everyone for all your generous donations. 109 donors have helped us to collect $ 4,735.

Thank you to each one who supported FAHC campaign. 

Sreelu of Sreelus Tasty Travels has won the The Red Chilli subscription at www.sanjeevkapoor.com from My Foodcourt.

Sreelu checkout your mail to see your prize! You are only a few clicks away from the Red Chilli subscription! musik291.gif

Entry filed under: Rice.

Boondi Raita ….And Plagiarism Continues!

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sushma  |  October 25, 2007 at 6:01 pm

    Hi thats a very nice recipe i always prepare it fromMTR puliogaremix.

    Reply
  • 2. Asha  |  October 25, 2007 at 6:14 pm

    Great recipe for Puliyodarai, looks great.Thanks!:))

    Reply
  • 3. Laavanya  |  October 25, 2007 at 6:53 pm

    I love puliyodarai too.. this looks great.

    Reply
  • 4. Tee  |  October 25, 2007 at 7:51 pm

    my favorite!! Looks delicious!

    Reply
  • 5. bee  |  October 25, 2007 at 8:20 pm

    i can’t make puliyogare to save my life. until i met j, i didn’t know such a thing existed. now i love it. i’m gonna try this.

    Reply
  • 6. Rajeswari  |  October 25, 2007 at 8:28 pm

    Looks mouthwatering and using rasam powder is new to me and a good idea too…got to try some time…!!

    Reply
  • 7. Indira  |  October 25, 2007 at 9:19 pm

    Congratulations to Sreelu and to everyone who participated in this good cause.

    Thank you dear Madhuli for your help with the fund drive.

    Pulihora, yum!:)

    Reply
  • 8. rinasrecipes  |  October 25, 2007 at 11:08 pm

    Can’t go wrong with Pulliyodharai. the recipe is bookmarked.

    Reply
  • 9. Puspha  |  October 26, 2007 at 5:50 am

    I love eating it with sweet ponggal & sundal.

    Congrats to the winners.

    Reply
  • 10. priyanka  |  October 26, 2007 at 7:32 pm

    Thats quite a spread….each and every dish is tempting and looks absolutely delicious.

    Reply
  • 11. sreelu  |  October 27, 2007 at 2:46 am

    Madhuli, Thanks for sponsering the prize, I was so excited when I won Yeeeeeeeeeeeh !!. Will send in my details in mail 🙂

    Reply
  • 12. Cynthia  |  October 27, 2007 at 6:38 am

    I’d love to eat off of this plate.

    Reply
  • 13. Trupti  |  October 29, 2007 at 7:41 pm

    Tamarind rice looking good..I will try that ..
    @ Thanks everyone. Let me know whenever you try it.

    Reply
  • 14. TBC  |  October 31, 2007 at 5:06 am

    Hi,
    Do you know about this? http://indianvegrecipe.blogspot.com/2007/10/paneer-pokada-pokara.html
    @ Hey thanks a lot for letting me know. This is terrible.Thanks again.

    Reply
  • 15. Kris  |  October 31, 2007 at 3:25 pm

    Fantastic mouth watering pure south indian. Just Love It.

    Reply
  • 16. Hima  |  November 1, 2007 at 10:54 pm

    I love pulihora. Especially when my mom makes it. Your version looks little different but pretty tempting. I may want to try it.

    Reply
  • 17. ….And Plagiarism Continues! « My Foodcourt  |  November 2, 2007 at 2:10 pm

    […] 2, 2007 I never thought someone would like to steal my photos too till TBC informed me about this. J Thanks a lot TBC for informing me. Lots of hugs to […]

    Reply
  • 18. Archana  |  June 10, 2008 at 9:42 pm

    I love this and it will be a perfectrecipe for the event I am hosting – I would love for you to send this recipe for my event – ONE DISH MEALS. Check my site or the link below for more details.
    http://www.archanaskitchen.com/2008/uncategorized/monthly-one-dish-event-meals/

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2007
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories

Bologmint

badge

Find my recipes at The Urban Spice

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,484 other subscribers