Spice It Up

February 9, 2007 at 12:12 pm 6 comments

Hot is the word you think of when you see a Red Cocktail Dress.

Hot is the word you think of when you see Red chili pepper!

Both Red hot and both irresistible. 🙂

redchili.jpg

Freshly cultivated Red peppers are available in plenty this season and like I said I cant resist the neatly stacked slender and juicy Red hot peppers in the Foodmart.

When I bought the peppers I wasn’t sure what I would be doing with them!Yesterday when I was making Dosa I wanted to make a quick hassle free Chutney to serve with it and I saw these Red peppers lounging in my fridge.I just picked up an onion, some of these Red Chili peppers and ground them together adding a little salt. For some more flavour I added a tadka (tempering) of mustard and Curry leaves.

onionchilicurryleaves.jpg

Voilà – Fiery Hot Red pepper Chutney was ready in a jiffy!

chilichutney.jpg

For the Red Pepper Chutney you need

2-3 Fresh Red Chili peppers washed and roughly chopped (You can increase the number if you are brave enough!)

1 onion peeled and sliced

Salt as per taste

For the Tadka:

1tsp oil

½ tsp Mustard seeds

Few Curry leaves 

Grind together the chopped Peppers and sliced onions with some salt without adding any water.

Add the tadka (tempering)- Heat oil in a small pan add the mustard seeds and once they crackle add the curry leaves. Add this over the Red Chili Pepper chutney. Serve with Dosa or use for sandwiching bread slices.

chutneydosa.jpg

Spice up your Valentine’s Day with this Red hot Red Pepper Chutney- Red’s the colour of this season!

Decorative Peppers

While browsing I found this beautiful photo of Chili peppers at Wikipedia decorative-chilipeppers.jpg

Chili peppers can also be used decoratively

Entry filed under: Chilli, Chutneys, curry leaves, dairy free, easy, gluten free, Maharashtrian, mustard seed, onion, ovo vegetarian, paleo, pepper, salt, side dish, vegan, vegetarian.

Ginger Lime Pachak (Digestive) Spice it up 2

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sailaja  |  February 9, 2007 at 1:33 pm

    Ooo la la la..that’s one spicy HOT chutney!
    Did you de-seed the chillis and was the chutney really HOT or medium spiced? Looks really good! I’d probably add a dash of jaggery..:)

    Reply
  • 2. madhuli  |  February 9, 2007 at 1:47 pm

    Sailu@ No I did not deseed them coz then it wouldn’t be that hot…and yes it was quite hot.

    Reply
  • 3. Sakshi  |  February 9, 2007 at 7:59 pm

    Oh my favorite..
    I am going to make it 🙂
    By the way, that picture of chillis – I had taken a lot of them in Seattle . I think I posted them too when talking about my seattle trip..

    Reply
  • 4. maheswari  |  February 10, 2007 at 9:55 am

    That’s hot…i like the combo of this hot n’ spicy chutney with idli or dosa.Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  • 5. My Foodcourt  |  February 11, 2007 at 10:41 am

    […] Spice It Up […]

    Reply
  • 6. Spice it up 2 « My Foodcourt  |  February 11, 2007 at 10:42 am

    […] is a sequel to the Red Chili Chutney (Spice it up 1) -Red Chili Thecha (Spice it up […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2007
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Categories

Bologmint

badge

Find my recipes at The Urban Spice

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,484 other subscribers