Dear Anita

August 19, 2007 at 10:42 am 20 comments

Dear Anita, 

You have no idea how your little provocation has unsettled my taste buds for the past week. I have been craving each day for those hot, oily floating balloons from the day you posted them at the Mad Tea party!

Clicking on any random blog on the Food Blog Desam made matters worse. I found myself drooling and ogling at all those sinful puris.

I decided to end my suffering, got up early (inspite of this being a weekend). I did not want anything to come between me and my puris (read my little one). I got up with this ‘Duniya ki koi takat muzhe puri banana se rok nahi sakti’ attitude. (too lengthy to translate in english)

At once I knew, that the sagoo (my mother-in-law’s recipe) would be the right companion to my Puris.

When I inserted the first rolled out round disc into the hot oil my happiness knew no bounds! I felt like a child who was given a bunch of balloons-when the first reddish- brown oily balloon started floating on the oil- gleaming at me, urging me to be eaten!

Thanks to that one provocation, I have managed to over-oil (as in lubricating a vehicle) my mind, body and the camera. Why the camera? – Just to prove that these are actually puris and not Cluris.

Thank you Anita, I had almost forgotten how these soft, hot, homemade puris tasted.. pure bliss – I can’t even remember the last time I made them.

Thank you. 

With lots of Puris and Sagoo

Madhuli

purisagoo.jpg

 Puri, Sagoo and Punjabi,Red Chili Pickle for the Puri-Bhaji party 

__________________________________________________________ 

Sagoo recipe

_____________________________________________________

For the gravy:

½ Coconut scrapped

6-7 green chillies chopped

½ bunch fresh coriander leaves

2 tsp poppy seeds (khus khus) soaked in warm water for 15 minutes

1” piece Cinnamon

½ “piece ginger chopped

1 onion sliced 

For the Sagoo

1 Onion sliced

2 potatoes cubed

1 cup cauliflower florets

1 cup French beans chopped 

For the tadka:

2 tsp oil

1 tsp mustard seeds

1 tsp cumene seeds

½ tsp turmeric powder 

Blend all the ingredients for the gravy to a smooth creamy paste.

Heat oil in a pan. Add the mustard seeds.Then the cumene seeds and the turmeric powder.

Add the onion and sauté for 1-2 minutes.

Add the vegetables and cook covered till they become tender.

Add the gravy, salt and adjust the water to the required consistency.

Mix nicely, cook for a few minutes more and serve hot with Puris. 

 sagoo.jpg

__________________________________________________________ 

Puri recipe

_____________________________________________________

Go to A Mad Tea Party on 20th August and you will get not one but many recipes for Puris.

I made them like this: 

In a bowl take 2 cups of Wheat Flour. Add salt as per taste. Add ½ tsp Turmeric powder. Add 1 tsp Red chilli powder. This type of puri is called Tikhat Mithachi Puri in Marathi. (Tikhat here refers to Red Chili powder and Mith is salt)

Add 1 tbsp hot oil to the Wheat Flour. Knead to a tight dough using water as required.

Make small balls from the dough. Roll out into small round discs.

rollpuri.jpg

Heat Oil in a Kadai/Wok. Deep fry the rolled out round disc till they puff up.

purifry.jpg 

Turn and fry on the other side till it turns a reddish-brown colour. 

Serve hot with Sagoo

Note: If you want to have Tikhat Mithachi Puri without any accompaniments- Add a tsp of cumene seeds and 1 tsp carom seeds to the Wheat flour before kneading the dough. Follow the rest of the procedure for puris. Roll and Insert these spicy Puris in hot Chai(tea) and eat it immediately..Hmmm..Yummy 

Entry filed under: bean, cauliflower, cinnamon, coconut, coriander leaves, Curries & Gravies, ginger, green chilli, legume, mustard seed, onion, poppy seed, potato, pulses, Roti/Parathas, seed, turmeric, veggies, water.

Monsoon Magic- Butterfly Sandwich Surprise from Sweden!

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Indira  |  August 19, 2007 at 11:16 am

    Madhuli: I went through the same thing after reading Anita’s post. I had to make the puris and I needed that deep-fried drip.:)

    Tikhat Mithachi Puri sounds so exotic and looks delicious. I am saving the recipe for my next try.

    Have a lovely weekend!
    @ Thanks Indira..I like that ‘Deep Fried Drip’ 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. bee  |  August 19, 2007 at 11:44 am

    dear madhuli,
    those puris look so wonderful. the sagoo recipe is very unusual. thanks for sharing.
    @ Hey Bee I am so happy that they came out as puris and not Cluris!:)

    Reply
  • 3. Anita  |  August 19, 2007 at 2:21 pm

    Sagoo is a totally new potato dish for me – it looks and sounds really delicious. We are going to have so many new alu-bhajis that poori-bhaji will never be the same! And thikhat-mithachi poori looks perfect!

    Thanks for joining the Independence Day celebrations!
    @ Thank you Anita for this wonderful idea!

    Reply
  • 4. Santhi  |  August 19, 2007 at 10:05 pm

    Madhuli…those puris look so inviting…and the sagoo is definitely different….let me try this for my next batch of puris ( read tomorrow )…:-)
    @ 🙂 I will invite myself over to your place!

    Reply
  • 5. mallugirl  |  August 20, 2007 at 5:39 am

    sagoo is new to me too as is ur spicy puris. thanks for the yummy looking recipe!
    @ Thanks M

    Reply
  • 6. Srivalli  |  August 20, 2007 at 2:47 pm

    sagoo recipe is excellent…will try them next time…thanks for sharing..

    Srivalli
    http://www.cooking4allseasons.blogspot.com

    Reply
  • 7. Srivalli Jetti  |  August 20, 2007 at 9:08 am

    sagoo recipe is excellent…will try them next time…thanks for sharing..
    Srivalli
    http://www.cooking4allseasons.blogspot.com

    Reply
  • 8. sharmi  |  August 20, 2007 at 6:35 pm

    yummy palate. the sagoo looks delicious!! the write is too funny:))

    Reply
  • 9. sharmi  |  August 20, 2007 at 6:35 pm

    oops Write= write up

    Reply
  • 10. kum  |  August 20, 2007 at 10:12 pm

    The sagoo looks so yummy with pooris!

    Thanks for the recipe!

    Reply
  • 11. What a Party! « A Mad Tea Party  |  August 21, 2007 at 12:15 am

    […] Spice Cafe) Shilpa (Aayi’s Recipes) RP (My Workshop) Sandeepa (Bong Mom’s Cookbook) Madhuli (My Foodcourt) Musical (Musical’s Kitchen) Santhi (Writing on the Mirror) Priya (Akshayapatram) GV Barve […]

    Reply
  • 12. Musical  |  August 21, 2007 at 1:23 am

    This is really a great sagu preparation, Madhuli. Bookmarked rightway! and yummy looking pooris too :).
    @ Thanks girls..Try the Puri-sagoo and let me know!

    Reply
  • 13. zlamushka  |  August 21, 2007 at 9:08 pm

    Hi Sweet Madhuli,

    lovely post, this one. I never made poris myself, thanx for the recipe… Btw, I have prepared a little surprise for you… Curious ? Have a look here:

    http://www.burntmouth.com/2007/08/wedding-engagement-and-more-blogging.html
    @ Thank you dear…:) Lots of hugs to you!

    Reply
  • 14. priyanka  |  August 22, 2007 at 12:51 am

    Madhuli, tikhat mithachi puri is so traditional yet so tasty… we usually make it for snacks- not the puffed ones so that they last for a long time…. btw- made shepuchi bhaji inspired from your recipe… turned out awesome… will be posting a different version-palak-shepuchi pattal bhaji in a couple of days:)
    @ Thanks Priyanka looking forward to your palak-shepuchi pattal bhaji ! And I love to dip the not-puffed spicy puris in hot chaha and eat! 🙂

    Reply
  • 15. lakshmi  |  August 22, 2007 at 12:14 pm

    tikhat mithachi – :D, i always called it masala puris

    lovely sagoo, slurp slurp – that plate of puris and sagoo looks so homely and inviting

    Reply
  • 16. Alu Posta and Khajur Khatta « My Foodcourt  |  August 22, 2007 at 4:36 pm

    […] not deep fry the potatoes as required in the original recipe. (I have been indulging in a lot of deep fried eats for the past week and my stomach can’t take it […]

    Reply
  • 17. Tamarind rice (Pulliogre) « My Foodcourt  |  October 25, 2007 at 1:53 pm

    […] Sagoo, Puliogre, Engai (Brinjal curry) for the Dassera […]

    Reply
  • 18. RK  |  March 13, 2009 at 3:58 am

    hi!
    thank you for the recipe…if you don’t know if you google out “tikha mithachi puri” you get very few results and you’r is the most relvenat one.
    Thanks once again,
    RK

    Reply
    • 19. My foodcourt  |  March 13, 2009 at 12:59 pm

      Hey Thanks for that information and you kind words too.

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2007
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Categories

Bologmint

badge

Find my recipes at The Urban Spice

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,484 other subscribers