Eat like..an Egyptian

August 24, 2007 at 11:47 am 16 comments

This month I have been Globe Trotting not physically but Cuisinewise! Some days ago we were in Thailand, then this week in Orissa.

My kitchen has been witnessing a lot of experiments these days thanks to some challenging events going in the blogosphere. (I have become a slave to these  Blog -events now!)

This time I am traveling all the way to the Middle East to EgyptAll thanks to Glenna of A Fridge Full of Foods. We are in search of Ethnic Dishes’ and she has asked us ‘to make a dish from a culture, country, or ethnicity other than our own’.

So this Columbus/i on her culinary expedition has landed in Egypt the ancient, mystic land of Pharaohs and Pyramids.

Here I discovered a National favourite –‘Ful Medames’ (FulEgyptian word for beans usually fava beans, and medames meaning buried -hinting at the original cooking method, which involved burying a sealed pot of water and beans under hot coals.)

Traditionally this recipe, consists of Fava beans slow-cooked in a copper pot that have been partially or completely mashed.

This is the first time I have ventured into Egyptian cuisine or cuisine of the Middle East for that Matter.

I turned my city upside down in search of Fava Beans – no one even knows what they are! It is something like ‘Wal beans’ we get here, which also I did not get at this time of the year.I  took a printout of some photos of Fava beans so that at least I would find some canned beans in the local Malls. But I couldn’t find them. L  

I had already made up my mind to make  Ful Medames, so I settled for some Red Beans. (I also bought a can of green Lima beans in the bargain, with which I have no clue what to do..maybe I will team it up with some pasta!)

I referred mainly to this recipe and browsed through many other recipes for Ful Medames and ended up making some adjustments to suit our taste and ingredients.

I have twisted the original Ful Madames recipe due to the lack of availability of ingredients –it might not be the same as it is made on the streets of Egypt but the end result was very good

I will repost the recipe once I get hold of Fava Beans!

I made my own Whole wheat Pita Bread, which is normally eaten with Ful Medames (here again I had no choice since Pita bread is not readily available) This recipe I have borrowed from the Masterchefs-Bee and Jai of Jugalbandi . Thank you Master bakers for this wonderful recipe with Wheat flour. 

Thank you Glenna, I gained an insight into various other cuisines while searching for some really traditional breakfast recipes around the world! 

fulmedames2.jpg

Ful Medames with Pita Bread, eggs, onions and lemon wedges for this month’s WBB # 14 ‘Ethnic dishes with a twist’ hosted by Glenna

__________________________________________________________ 

Ful Medames recipe

_____________________________________________________

 ~ 2 cups Red Beans (actually Fava beans) soaked overnight

1 onion chopped

6-7 pods garlic peeled and crushed

2 tsp cumene powder roasted and crushed

7-8 peppercorns roasted and crushed

2 tsp lemon juice

2-3 tbsp Olive oil

few fresh coriander leaves chopped (you can use mint leaves if you have)

Salt to taste 

For serving:

1 onion sliced

1 egg boiled and sliced

1-2 Limes wedges

Pita Bread  

Cook the beans till they become soft . (They are actually cooked in a pan for~45-50 minutes.) I pressure cooked them for about 30 minutes. 

Sauté the garlic and chopped onion in a little oil for few seconds (this is for people who don’t like raw onion/garlic like me)  

Mash the cooked beans with the back of a wooden spatula.

Add the sautéed onion-garlic.

Add the crushed cumene seeds and crushed peppercorns.

Add the lemon juice, salt and olive oil. Mix nicely.  

Serve on a platter with sliced onion, sliced egg, lime wedges and Pita Bread 

fulmedames1.jpg

Note: I also added chili flakes and blanched tomatoes to a portion of the above version of Ful Medames. Chili lovers will prefer this version.

Entry filed under: citrus, cooking oil, Cuisines of the world, egg, garlic, lemon, lemon juice, lime, olive oil, onion, peppercorn, Quick eats, salt.

Alu Posta and Khajur Khatta SilverOak Farm

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bee  |  August 24, 2007 at 12:00 pm

    i love ful mudammes. thanks for the recipe. i have four packets of frozen favas (fresh) in the freezer.

    ful mudammes is with dried, i guess. we get favas in cans too. the fresh are my fav kind of beans. they are also very popular in italian cuisine.

    her’s a link to what a fresh fava bean looks like
    http://www.fava-beans.com/Fava_Beans.htm

    and here’s dried

    even fava bean flour is quite popular in these regions.

    glad you enjoyed the pitas. if you want lighter pitas with 100% whole wheat flour, replace 2 tablespoons of the flour with cornstarch.

    Reply
  • 2. bee  |  August 24, 2007 at 12:04 pm

    madhuli, with dried lima beans, you can try something along these lines.

    http://thecookscottage.typepad.com/curry/2006/09/butter_beans_do.html

    with canned you can cook it indian-style like any beans (like chana or black-eyed peas)
    @ Thanks bee for all those links and info. I know Double Beans so now i know what to do with the lima beans. thanks again for that info on Pita Bread.
    Yes you need dried fava beans for Ful MedamesAnd Bee 4 packets..not fair.I have been hunting for them here.send one to me right away! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Happy cook  |  August 24, 2007 at 2:19 pm

    II am not sure, i thgought fava beans you can replace with chick pea.
    I was in Egypt last year for three weeks for holiday and it was a holiday to remember
    @ Yes I thought of chickpeas but I had a stock of red beans and the colour is at least coose to the actaul Fava beans!

    Reply
  • 4. Raaga  |  August 24, 2007 at 2:52 pm

    Applause 🙂 That’s really nice Madhuli… I agree with you… blogging makes us globetrot within the confines of our kitchens 🙂
    @ Thanks Raaga. Yes and You learn a lot from these adventures!

    Reply
  • 5. Nupur  |  August 24, 2007 at 5:59 pm

    That platter looks very appetizing! And the bean mixture looks tasty enough to be used in different ways.
    My favorite way to use lima beans: in combination with eggplant in a simple bhaji. Somehow those tastes wok well together for me.
    @ Thanks Nupur for that tip with eggplant!

    Reply
  • 6. Asha  |  August 24, 2007 at 7:48 pm

    WOW!! This is really a good hearty breakfast to have in the morning!! I think in most tropical countries, we do feel hungry enough to eat these like we do full breakfast in India! Great entry girl:))
    @ Yep we truly believe in “Breakfast like a king’ 🙂 Thanks Asha

    Reply
  • 7. bhags  |  August 24, 2007 at 8:32 pm

    this one look nice for a spiced up breakfast…..but would prefer it without eggs
    @ Bhags the beans are so delicious that you can do without the eggs!

    Reply
  • 8. Sakshi  |  August 24, 2007 at 10:09 pm

    My fav cuisine. Well I say that about all good food 😀
    But seems easy to make and hearty meal, too!
    @ Madam thankyou for visitng! finally!

    Reply
  • 9. Jyothsna  |  August 25, 2007 at 1:27 am

    Here in Dubai, ful is spelt as “foul”” . An English guy asked how can you have food that’s called foul? 🙂
    @ Yes I came across a lot of different spellings for it. I went by the one in Wiki! 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. nandita  |  August 25, 2007 at 9:36 am

    Hey Madhuli,
    great job, I was planning to make that too for the round up, since it was something with quite Indian kinda ingredients…but ended up making something from North Africa…
    Will try this out sometime when I have pita break on hand

    Cheers
    @ Cheers Nandita! 🙂 Would love to see your version too! Yes I have bookmarked your Farka recipe!

    Reply
  • 11. priyanka  |  August 26, 2007 at 10:22 pm

    This is quite new to me Madhuli…. looks mouthwatering…. will try it out sometime:)

    Reply
  • 12. Farfalle with Lima Beans « My Foodcourt  |  August 30, 2007 at 5:13 pm

    […] utilise a can of Lima beans, (I bought when I was searching for Fava Beans) last night I fixed us a quick pasta dinner- Farfalle with Lima Beans. BTW, Lima Beans are also […]

    Reply
  • 13. Glenna  |  August 31, 2007 at 3:28 pm

    Perfect! Thank you so much for participating. I’m glad you’re like me. Sometimes I just get an idea in my head of something I’m going to make and even if I can’t find the exact ingredients I make it anyway substituting what I have to. I think there’s a kind of creative stretch to that kind of thinking that’s very fulfilling.

    Reply
  • 14. Amy  |  October 16, 2007 at 3:16 am

    You can purchase Fava Beans from ANY middle eastern or Lebanese grocer. They should all carry them. Fava Beans are my FAVORITE, and I never have trouble finding them!
    @ Thanks for that Info Amy

    Reply
  • 15. Cath  |  December 5, 2007 at 4:05 am

    I came across this page as I was just prowling around looking for recipes that might use broad bean flour, as I have purchased a grain mill and am about to start grinding everything in sight. I have some info about broad beans that might help.

    We grow a lot of broad beans every year, and they are so easy to grow, as well as being great for your garden. You put the seeds into the ground then leave them alone. I uploaded a photo of this year’s crop on my blog – they’re the big leafy plants at the back.

    http://cathwood.blogspot.com/2007_09_01_archive.html

    Our kitchen table is currently covered with the mostly dried pods, which we pulled out of the garden yesterday. It’s a bit of a job removing the beans from the shells, but it yields a couple of bags that we can use throughout the year. Very satisfying.

    If you’re in the northern hemisphere, plant them in October, I guess. I don’t know how they’d go with snow though : ).

    If you buy a pack of seeds and plant them in the first year, you will have broad beans forever – just make sure you save the seeds from the most prolific plants each year.

    Reply
  • 16. cindy  |  March 6, 2008 at 10:27 pm

    who fat son of a bitch who the fuck would eat that peice of shit you call food you fat basterd go jack off with your MOM

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2007
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Categories

Bologmint

badge

Find my recipes at The Urban Spice

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,484 other subscribers