Besan Ladoo

September 27, 2006 at 10:23 pm 12 comments

Slim is not in on the fashion arena! Thank God for that. With Ghee and Butter as the theme for JFI, I can try all the recipes at the round up without a worry for those extra pounds!
In India Milk, Ghee (homemade), Butter (homemade) are considered as signs of prosperity. Households that use plenty of these ingredients are supposed to be well-off!
In fact as children my mom would make us eat ghee with Rotis and rice everyday! Whenever she would make ghee, I would take it in a small bowl and dip the Roti in the ghee and have it! Now I can’t imagine myself doing this!!
But I still love the golden brown milk proteins that settle down when Ghee is made.We call it Beri which is somewhat sour to taste. Add some sugar to it and eat it just like that.. Sweet and sour.
(Refer Indira’s procedure here for making Ghee.She has a great Knack for describing procedures for her recipes) 
After I remove the Ghee…I boil water in the pan in which the ghee is made…so that all the grease is easily removed. I use this water to make Roti or Paratha dough!The Rotis are very soft and delicious.
Back to the recipe. The festive season has already begun and  I thought of making good old Besan Ladoo for JFI-Ghee

       ladoo.jpg

To make around 8-10 medium sized Ladoos you need: 2 Cups Gram Flour
1 Cup Ghee
1 ½ Cups powdered sugar
½ cup milk
8-10 golden raisins
½ tsp Cardamom powder(optional.I don’t like the taste/flavour of Cardamoms so I don’t include them in anything..but most of the people like to use it in Indian sweets.)

In a hot pan heat Ghee. Add the Gram flour and roast, stirring constantly, till its color turns brownish. Don’t worry you will know by the wonderful aroma that will fill your kitchen,even your neighbours can make out! Add the milk and keep stirring till all the liquid dries out. Remove from flame,let it cool a bit then add sugar and mix it nicely.I use a food processor for mixing the Ladoo mixture nicely. Add the cardamom.Make small medium sized round balls from the mixture. Place 1 raisin at the centre of each ball as shown in the picture. Alternatively you can add raisins to the mixture before making the round balls.

Store Besan Ladoos in airtight container

      ladoo1.jpg

Entry filed under: butter, For the sweet tooth, ghee, milk, sugar, sweetener.

Butti -Hand made Cane Basket Dudhi Raita (Bottle gourd salad)

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hema  |  September 28, 2006 at 7:57 pm

    I love besan ladoos and have never tried making them myself. Love your pictures. Thanks!

    @Thanks for your kind words Hema.

    Reply
  • 2. Asha  |  September 28, 2006 at 9:52 pm

    Me too! Love beasan laddoo that is!! I have some in my blog! Taste wonderful, those things!! Great job!!

    @Thanks Asha

    Reply
  • 3. prema  |  September 30, 2006 at 5:43 am

    Looks wonderful.. I love the shine in it..great entry

    @Thank you so much Prema.I am glad you liked it.

    Reply
  • 4. MenuToday  |  October 12, 2006 at 3:36 pm

    Hi,
    Your Besan ladoo looks nice. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  • 5. Menu Today  |  October 12, 2006 at 9:58 am

    Hi,
    Your Besan ladoo looks nice. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  • 6. Anu  |  October 19, 2006 at 8:08 pm

    Looks lovely…. Thank you. now i know what I’m making tomorrow… Happy Deepawali.

    Reply
  • 7. Shoba  |  November 27, 2006 at 10:21 am

    milk required? When I added the milk it made the wet besan+ghee suddenly too dry. But tastes good

    @ Infact I add milk(actually my mom)to make it moist and of course the taste is also better.

    Reply
  • 8. Shilpa  |  November 6, 2007 at 10:03 am

    Your ladoos look wonderful….I am sure they taste equally good

    Reply
  • 9. Nisha  |  January 2, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    Chooo chweet ur ladoos luks so delicious hmmm yummy i will try as well ,i didnt know that we should add the milk as well hmmm gud idea

    Reply
  • 10. Sheetal  |  May 5, 2008 at 1:50 am

    Excellent recepie… thank you for having put this up on the internet. I already tried making them and they turned out, well … yuuuuuuuuuuuuuummmmmmmmmmyyyyyyyyyyyy…

    Reply
  • 11. mini  |  June 16, 2008 at 10:23 am

    I added the ghee in the pan and then added the besan. The besan got roasted and everything, but there were small granules of besan which formed and then never broke, so the besan ladoos ended up being a little granular. Any idea why that happned. Do I need to add more ghee

    Reply
  • 12. Shweta  |  October 25, 2008 at 3:29 am

    besan ladoos are yum, but u don’t need so much milk, it alters the taste of the ladoo, you just need two tea spoons of milk to moisten the mixture. otherwise yummy.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2006
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Categories

Bologmint

badge

Find my recipes at The Urban Spice

Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,484 other subscribers